mymichele's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Scared.

Well, I skip a day, and have so much to say! (I didn't really mean that to rhyme.)

Last night, BB and I went to a high school football game. Isn't that kooky? The NFL, Major League Baseball, the PGA, everyone postpones or cancels games but not high school football, no, let's not be silly.

I got there later so I didn't see if they had any pre-show tribute or something, but I was dissapointed in the rest of the game. There was a "moment of silence" (about 3 seconds) for "Aalyiah and the victims of Tuesday's tragedy.

Now, I think Aaliyah was taken before her time and I feel bad for all those people who feel like they lost something when she died, but I'm sorry, I don't think she should have been grouped in with a terrorist attack. That just seemed ridiculous to me, but whatever floats your boat, I guess.

Today, I went to my dad's farm. It's sad to go there because of the fact an electrical storm burned down the house in May, but I still like going, so I can see my farm doggies. I sat down on chair so I could talk to them, and they both climbed up there with me. Now, have you ever had 200 pounds of Anatolian Shephards on you? Yeah. They're heavy.

Also, I stepped in a big pile of ants. They got in my shoe and then my sock and umm.. it was painful.

I then spent a large chunk of the day taking pictures. I bought a disposable camera from a little store in Will's Point, Texas (where my dad's farm is) and took pictures of flags and bulletin boards that said "God Bless America" and such like that. I just wanted pictures of those flags, while we're still feeling patriotic and everything. It just gives me goosebumps as to how many people are joining together in the name of America. Just in Dallas, everyone is giving so much money. One radio station got $30,000 in two hours by standing on the street corner. I love stories like that. I went to a few different places today to buy a flag, and everywhere was sold out. There wasn't any to be found.

I'm going to post those pictures tommorow or Monday, for all to see.

I went everywhere to take these pictures, all my old houses, my high school, my junior high, the theater where I worked. I just wanted to see if those places were being patriotic. Most of them weren't.

BB is cyncal about the whole thing. He expressed his confusion as to why people who couldn't give a shit about being patriotic before, and now they have flags growing up their butt. I just told him, "Sometimes something bad has to happen before we realize what's really important to us." He thought about that for a second, and then he said, "Well said." and nodded. I don't know. It just meant alot to me.

I have Nintendo thumb. I played a whole lot of Tetris and Super Mario Brothers this weekend. BB had it in his head that he could beat me at Tetris when, in fact, he could not. You're looking at the queen of Tetris, baby.

I also watched the news quite a bit. When I see things about people giving much to the victims, when I see the generosity that so many people thought America had left behind, it always makes me cry. Every single time. And especially when I see other countries crying for us. When I saw the London people playing the Star Spangled Banner instead of God Save the Queen, it makes me cry like a baby. Well, not like a baby, but it brings a tear to my eye. I want to cry. I want to cry hard, until I can't cry anymore, but I don't know.

I don't want to face it. Because the country is going to change more than we think. We are heading for desperate times, financially and emotionally and any other way we can think of. Dubyah actually said today that we were going to have a war. That scares the shit out of me. I just don't understand what that's going to entail. I guess I've just taken all that I have for granted for too long, and now, here comes cold hard reality to slap me in the face.

Umm, Tony Danza is hosting Miss America. That is also scary.

I was watching Runaway Bride today, and it was strange, because as Richard Gere walked through the streets of New York, you could see the Twin Towers in the background.

I know this was long, and I know you're probably tired of hearing about all this, but it affects me. It probably affects you. It's not something we can just forget about tommorow. Things are going to change, and not for the better, and I'm just really scared.

8:03 p.m. - September 15, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Astralfrog
cursedfemale
perceptions
lynnstjoseph
Weetabix
cerebrate
surlygurl
ladeeleroy
SuicideBlond
Boogabooga
olei
GBG
Phoenixchild
tandia
wicked-sezzy
Mollyx
subsequent
tuluum
stumblebee
enigmareview
rockergemini
thespark
owauno
prettytiedup
rocketqueens
fallonme
agentmerp
Cuillin