mymichele's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Raven snowmen in the cold searching for their lost lenore

*Yawn*

So yeah. I'm working on the paper I'm supposed to turn in in a few hours. It's almost 5 pages! I'm impressed with that, really.

Jeep Girl is an english major and she said she's having problems with the assignment. She said other people in the class were overwhelmed by it. Maybe something's wrong with me or something, but I think it's a pretty straight forward assignment. Compare the narrators of the Raven and the Fall of the House of Usher.. seems not so bad to me. But we'll see my grade, maybe it is bad and I just don't know it. I'm searching for the lost Lenore, is what I'm doing.

So snow is covering the ground today. It's actually really beautiful! We hardly ever get snow.. if there's something that falls, it's usually ice, which causes people to slip and fall and have accidents and usually just sucks in general. But the feeling here seems to be that everyone is enjoying the snow. Last night, I went by the Methodist Student Center and they had built a whole family of snowmen! It was the cutest thing I had ever seen!

And then I saw some people having a snowball fight. It was really cool.. people are enjoying the snow and having fun and acting like little kids. I'm glad the snow's doing that to us.. it's a groovy thing.

Nice of school to be closed until 10 am today. Nice of that to not affect me at all! Anyway.

For some reason, my suitemate keeps turning off the heater. Good idea when its 35 degrees, really great!

This passage from "The Raven" really brings back memories for me. I had to memorize it once in 7th grade, and it's really beautiful, and I just thought I'd share it with you.

This I sat engaged in guessing, but no syllable expressing

To the fowl, whose fiery eyes now burned into my bosom's core;

This and more I sat divining, with my head at ease reclining

On the cushion's velvet lining that the lamp-light gloated o'er

But whose velvet-violet lining with lamp-light gloating o'er

She shall press, ah, nevermore!

Then methought, the air grew denser, perfumed from an unseen censer

Swung by seraphim whose foot-falls tinkled on the tufted floor.

"Wretch," I cried, "thy God has lent thee -- by these angels he hath sent thee

Respite -- respite the nepenthe from thy memories of Lenore!

Quaff, oh, quaff this kind nepenthe and forget this lost Lenore!"

Quoth the Raven, "Nevermore."

Now I'm going to finish my wonderful paper.

8:48 a.m. - February 06, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Astralfrog
cursedfemale
perceptions
lynnstjoseph
Weetabix
cerebrate
surlygurl
ladeeleroy
SuicideBlond
Boogabooga
olei
GBG
Phoenixchild
tandia
wicked-sezzy
Mollyx
subsequent
tuluum
stumblebee
enigmareview
rockergemini
thespark
owauno
prettytiedup
rocketqueens
fallonme
agentmerp
Cuillin