mymichele's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My dorky tribute to Annie

MYMICHELE'S TRIBUTE TO A REALLY GOOD MOVIE!

You know, I may be the hardcore Guns N Roses loving, Pepsi One burping, Doc Marten wearing rock 'n' roll journalism chick you see before you now, but once upon a time, I loved one thing, and one thing only: The movie Annie.

I'm not 100% sure, but that may be the first movie I ever saw in a theater. In 1982 I was 2 years old, and that movie was just the coolest thing I've ever seen.

If you can't tell, I watched it today. For the first time in at least 5 years. And it was sooo good! So good that I thought it deserved it's own entry. I mean, sure, servants don't automatically have a choreographed dance everytime someone comes to visit, and sure Mrs. Hannagin doesn't have a clue that her brother is trying to fool her for that few minutes, and you know, such. But the story - an angry, bitter millionaire finds comfort in a 10-year-old orphan who makes him see that life just isn't all about money, and a little girl who finds what she's looking for, only in a different package then what she once hoped for.

*wiping a tear away*

"How quickly I'll forget, how much she meant to me.. and how she was almost my baby.. maybe.."

Oh dear. That gets me. It really does.

Albert Finney is such a great Daddy Warbucks! He sings and dances and opens his heart. Aileen Quinn was never in any movies after Annie, but she is on Broadway, I think. Anyway, she was greatness.

This movie just has so much sentimental value to me. I remember when I was 2, I had the nightgown, the dolls, I even had the friggin mansion. I had the soundtrack and I'd listen to it all the damn time. I would watch it like 3 times a day. That was my first obsession, my friends.

There's a real orphanage over by my grandmother's house. Whenever we'd pass it when I was a little one, I'd always tell my mom, "Can you drop me off there, please?" I thought it would be really cool to live in the orphanage.

And Tim Curry and Bernadette Peters are deliciously evil. You want to hate Carol Burnett, but she tries to save Annie at the end, and besides, she's just a woman looking for some love, be it from Mr. Bundles or the policemen or Daddy Warbucks or what have you.

And Punjab rules! And Sandy! Sandy was so cute.

I know you all have something that means this much to you. Tell me about it, friend. Tell me what makes you watch or listen with rapt attention even though you know exactly what happens because it brings sentimental memories of your childhood! No, this is not a ploy to get you to sign my guestbook! It's NOT!

The point is, I love that movie. I have it all memorized and it's such greatness and deserves to be revered and admired.

Thank you for listening.

7:28 p.m. - May 25, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Astralfrog
cursedfemale
perceptions
lynnstjoseph
Weetabix
cerebrate
surlygurl
ladeeleroy
SuicideBlond
Boogabooga
olei
GBG
Phoenixchild
tandia
wicked-sezzy
Mollyx
subsequent
tuluum
stumblebee
enigmareview
rockergemini
thespark
owauno
prettytiedup
rocketqueens
fallonme
agentmerp
Cuillin