mymichele's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the road to hell is paved with good perditions.

Sooo, Road to Perdition. Here is my review!

I was really excited about seeing this movie because I had heard it was like the best movie ever and it's practically won an Oscar already. And plus, Tom Hanks! I mean, that's all the incentive I need. I never even saw a preview for it, I barely knew what it was about, but I was really excited about it.

And you know what? I didn't like it. Not at all. I've been a fan of Tom Hanks since for 14 years almost, more than half of my life, and I don't remember ever being so dissapointed in one of his movies like this. Here comes a bit of a spoiler, so if you haven't seen the movie yet, don't read this part!

BB got it right when he said he didn't like it because he couldn't sympathize with the characters. I mean, Tom Hanks is a hitman. He kills people for a living. Real people, people with wives and kids and dogs. And then he's shocked and expects special treatment like he's friggin God when someone kills his family! What do you expect, buddy? Karma is gonna get you when you fucking kill people for a living.. it's called what comes around goes around! Look it up.

And I think the movie came full circle. After Tom killed his father figure guy and all those other guys, he looked up to see everyone looking down on him, and he felt like he lost control and there was no turning back, which is the way the dude who killed his family felt, and it's just a circle of bad karma, ya know?

My favorite characters in this movie was the farm family that they stay with after he's shot. They were cool.

I just didn't like it. I was really dissapointed in Tom Hanks and everyone else who said it was such a great movie. I really tried to like it, I did, but it just didn't work out for me.

If you want a good hit man movie, The Professional will always be the best. Natalie Portman will never be better than her first role in this awesome movie. But I digress.

I am extremely exhausted, so that's all your getting out of me tonight. I didn't write an entry last year at this time because I was in Louisiana, so you don't even get that! Bah!

I'll leave you with some pictures. How's that?







12:03 a.m. - July 14, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Astralfrog
cursedfemale
perceptions
lynnstjoseph
Weetabix
cerebrate
surlygurl
ladeeleroy
SuicideBlond
Boogabooga
olei
GBG
Phoenixchild
tandia
wicked-sezzy
Mollyx
subsequent
tuluum
stumblebee
enigmareview
rockergemini
thespark
owauno
prettytiedup
rocketqueens
fallonme
agentmerp
Cuillin