mymichele's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My old friend is perfect. Okay? She's perfect.

Ummm, does anyone else have a friend that's so sickingly smart and seemingly perfect that it makes you want to puke, but at the same time, you're also really proud and quite impressed? She came a long way from dipping her popcorn in the nacho cheese at the theater on Friday nights.

"Hey! I am glad to hear that you are still graduating in December and that your love life is going well, despite the hard economic times you are facing. I, too, am a poor college student, so I feel your pain. Though I do have my own queen size bed, which sort of takes the edge off, not that anyone is in it with me. I am also happy to hear (though I do not support your insane love for them) that GnR are touring and that you are going. Just as your December is shaping up to be busy, my January is going to be a whirlwind of activity. 2, maybe 3 of my best friends are coming down to New Orleans and we are going to spend New Year's Eve there, then hit San Antonio for a day, and then Dallas. We plan to eat the entire time, non-stop, until we pop, so I can't wait. Then Dorothy will head to Las Vegas to see her sister, Andrew home to Jersey and Debbie back home to NY, leaving me to pack for my next big exploit. I was chosen as a speaker at the Hawaii International Conference for the Humanities, so from Jan 12-15 I will be at the conference, and they are paying, which is wonderful! Of course, I will go down a few days early and visit a friend on the island so I can get some scuba diving and touristy things done. It should be fun and lord knows I need the sunshine!

As for the future, I don't know what is in store for me. I think it is

wonderful that you know that you hate the business end of journalism. You need a teammate to do all that shite, sort of a Woodward and Bernstein situation. That would be ideal and you could churn out the quality. It is best that you know that now so that you don't spend a long time in grad school setting yourself up for something that you think sucks. I know I love Art History so I am happy to apply to schools for the reason, though I do hope to do one more year abroad (ideally Norway, but I am also looking at China, Turkey, Morocco and Spain as a last ditch thing). As for grad schools, here you have then in no particular order save the first two, which are my top choices:Columbia and NYU, Harvard, Princeton (all PhD programs)U of London, U of Chicago, U of Toronto (Canada), St. Andrew's (Scotland) (all Master's only)I might even apply to SMU, as there is a professor I really want to work with there, but if she says no go, well, I will just not do that. It would be all for learning with her, not for location or ambience. I want to go where I think I will be happy, and that is the Northeast. I love it here!

To get in to these schools I have been trying to beef up on the honors and so far so good. The conference will get my name out there and they will publish me, so I go in with that already in the bag. I am applying for a few grants and fellowships and if I get the Norway grant I am working on, well, I think I will have quite a few schools wanting me there. I specialize in a pretty understudied time period (Art Nouveau 1890-1914) and I am also a big proponent of the understudied cultures (Scandanavia and Spain) and I am learning Chinese so Asian art is an option. In short, I hope I am desireable enough to get in. If not, well, retail it is! Just kidding! Actually, I will probably do some more time in the business end of the museum world (I am interning right now at one) which will get my name out in those circles.

Glad to hear from you and keep up the good work. Fool around a lot with your boyfriend and get enough sleep. The rest will come naturally."

Wooakay... nice to know. This, of course, is an email from old friend. I mean.. really.. is there ANYTHING wrong with this woman? It's just.. frightening. She and I made different choices, and her choices were better, and I just can't get over it. Will I ever get over this, somebody tell me! Arrrghhh.

I mean, it's Friday night, right? Since BB's football game was last night, we have this night free. What are we doing? He's listening to high school football on the radio, I'm reviewing friggin diaries and killing roaches in the kitchen! And in 10 minutes, I'm going to the store to buy some lettuce. The excitement is killing me. I bet Old Friend is getting drunk off her ass with all her genius friends, talking about going to Harvard next year. ARRGHHHH!!!

Although I did just get one incredible orgasm. It might have been a couple incredible orgasms. I bet Old Friend isn't having incredible orgasms without even having sex. Cuz yeah, I'm just really fucking special like that.

*****

In other news:

I can't help but just LOVE this picture! I mean, Axl wears boxers! How cool is that, I ask you all!

*****

So today, BB and I went to our anniversary pizza place. Whenever we used to go, we'd get the GIANT pizza. That's probably like.. 18 pieces of pizza in that thing. We ate ALL OF IT. But today we just got a medium and ate that. It was liberating, really. We're moving on or something.

*****

8:17 p.m. - October 04, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Astralfrog
cursedfemale
perceptions
lynnstjoseph
Weetabix
cerebrate
surlygurl
ladeeleroy
SuicideBlond
Boogabooga
olei
GBG
Phoenixchild
tandia
wicked-sezzy
Mollyx
subsequent
tuluum
stumblebee
enigmareview
rockergemini
thespark
owauno
prettytiedup
rocketqueens
fallonme
agentmerp
Cuillin