mymichele's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Charlie's story, pretty, and 21 years old

Today is a tragic day, my friends. Why is this a tragic day? I'll tell you why it is a tragic day.

It is Psycho Boy's 21st birthday. *Cringe!*

I haven't talked to him in over a year, first of all. But I keep ex boyfriend birthdays in my head. I know almost all of them, I really do. Scary, I know.

But this is scary because.. just think of all the wrath he will put on this world with all the things he's now legally able to do! Not that doing them illegally would have stopped him, but yeah. That's scary.

Anyway!

I got the most awesomest review yesterday from Pretty on the Inside. It was all nice and happy and go see it!

I can't remember what else I wanted to say, so I'm going to tell you the Charlie story!

That's right, my puppy man, Charlie the puppy boy. I know you're excited.

I first met Charlie when he was a few weeks old. He was BB's roommate's puppy. He was a mix of a golden retriever and cocker spaniel. I could tell this the first time I met him, because he had cocker ears, a golden coat, and a golden retriever kind of personality. He liked me when we first met, which was just for about 5 minutes. It was love at first sight for me.

I don't know why these two guys got this puppy. BB's roommate, Pizza Guy, was going to start a new business, and BB.. well, BB is lazy. At the time, he was also a little depressed. These two should not have had something to take care of such as a puppy.

I ended up taking care of him whenever I was there, which wasn't much. I'd take him for walks and feed him all the time and pet him and love on him. He was the cutest puppy! He was always so happy to see me, and that made me feel good.

To add to the fact Pizza Boy bought this puppy but neglected to get him shots.. well, that was a bad thing. I had soon grown quite attached to this little man, and he grew attached to me. He'd follow me around the house, he'd whine when I wouldn't let him in the bathroom with me. He'd cry when I'd leave the house. I was his mommy, and he loved me.

I told my parents about this cute puppy BB and Pizza Guy had, and they knew about him, but they didn't know quite how cute he was.

I took him with me to my dad's farm for Thanksgiving in 1999, and that's when my dad fell in love with him. There's something about Charlie.. he has that love effect on everyone.

All my relatives were there, and they fell in love with him too. Charlie became a part of the family.

The winter of 1999, things were bad. BB and I were constantly fighting. He was depressed and he thought I didn't take that seriously enough. I was spending all my time with Charlie when I got to BB's house, because he was fun and he loved me and cherished me, and I didn't feel BB did at the time.

He soon got sick. He didn't want to drink water anymore. He didn't eat. He started having horrible diarrahea, and he vomited a lot. Soon, he couldn't move, and this was bad. I wanted to take him to the vet, but that would have cost money, something we didn't have a lot of at that time. BB refused to let me take him to the vet, because we didn't have money and because he thought Charlie was going to get better.

He didn't. He could barely move from Pizza Guy's bathroom. He looked up at me with his sad eyes, and I tried to do everything I could to make him feel better. I fed him pedialight through a dropper. I tried to get him to drink some water. I knew by this time he had Parvo, and if we didn't get him to a vet soon, there would be no more Charlie.

Finally, I called my dad. The only thing I said, while crying of course, was "Charlie's sick." He said, "Take him to the vet. I'll take care of it." So I took wrapped him up in the blanket, loaded his sick body into my car, and took him to the vet.

I am so thankful for that vet, I really am. They saved my baby when he was about to die. This is why I think we have such a bond, because he knows I tried to save him when he was about to die.

This put me and Pizza Guy at odds. I was so mad at him that he didn't take good enough care of Charlie. If he would have paid more attention, if he would have given Charlie his shots, none of that would have happened. At the time, BB was mad at Pizza Guy too because of all this personal shit that was going on.

Soon, BB moved out. Charlie had to stay behind with Pizza Guy, who's business was quickly failing, by the way. I knew this was a bad situation. I really knew it was bad when I came back to BB's old house to get some stuff and Charlie was outside, in a rain storm, shivering. I kidnapped him and brought him back to BB's. I was soooo mad!

Anyway, Pizza Guy soon got fed up with his business. He shut it down and was planning on moving to San Diego. This was a problem. Charlie couldn't come live here because BB's roommate here has a little kid, plus he lives on a busy street. I was seriously about to have a nervous breakdown when I tried to find Charlie a home. I didn't know what to do. I couldn't stand to see him go to the pound, that just would have torn me up inside.

Fortunately, my mom let him stay at her house for a few months. I would call her everyday to see how he was doing. She loved him, but he was a little too much for her. We also had our 13 year old dog at the time, who was low maintence. But Charlie was still a puppy. He chewed the carpet, my mom got pissed, and he got sent off to live at my dad's farm.

Charlie is not a farm dog. He's a family dog. He did okay there, but my dad started falling in love with him. His girlfriend started talking my dad into just letting Charlie live at home with him, and well, that's where he is now.

He lives with my dad. I thought maybe I'd get him back when I graduate and have a stable place to live, but I don't think that's going to happen. He loves him too much. Charlie is so disciplined, and it's so cute! I love my baby, and I'm really glad he has a good home with people that love him.

Awww.

1:08 p.m. - March 10, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Astralfrog
cursedfemale
perceptions
lynnstjoseph
Weetabix
cerebrate
surlygurl
ladeeleroy
SuicideBlond
Boogabooga
olei
GBG
Phoenixchild
tandia
wicked-sezzy
Mollyx
subsequent
tuluum
stumblebee
enigmareview
rockergemini
thespark
owauno
prettytiedup
rocketqueens
fallonme
agentmerp
Cuillin