mymichele's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

20 hours of driving, lots of Subway, and your mom.

Hello, D Land folks. I am back. From outer space. And I just walked in to that sad look upon your face.

I am back today because Captain Big Dick BB decided he was going to show his intestinal fortitude by driving straight home (AKA Plano, TX) from Charleston, West Virginia. That's just oh.. 1250 miles. 20 hours. We left at around 11 am yesterday and got home at 6 am this morning. Wooo.. the fun never ends.

We were going to stop in Springfield, MO, but he wasn't tired, so he just kept on going. By the time we got to the next biggish city, Tulsa, he was tired but it didn't make sense to get a hotel when we were gonna be home in a few hours! Hey.. good times, my friend, good times.

So, here are some observations from said trip.

1. We were listening to the radio and this one DJ chick was really quite excited about her mama coming to visit, because apparently she lives far away. She said, "I've already kicked my husband out of the bed cuz I'm sleeping with mama tonight!" It was just so shocking because we were in Arkansas at the time, and it was just.. fitting, I guess.

2. The first night we stayed in Memphis. We drove for at least 45 minutes trying to find a place to eat. It was only 11 pm and either nothing was open or we just couldn't find a damn thing! We found the airport and the Fed Ex from Castaway, but no place to eat. Finally after searching forever, we went to the Kettle and I had some pancakes. I asked for low fat syrup and they gave me "Imitation pancake syrup." It looked suspicious, but it turned out to be the best syrup ever in the whole world. God damn, those pancakes were good!

3. Well, Kentucky was pretty interesting. First of all, we were promised that we would see blue grass, but we were lied to! No blue grass anywhere in that damn state! You know what there was, though? A huge, lavish CASTLE! A castle right in the damn middle of friggin Kentucky! If someone can tell me what the hell this is, I'd appreciate it. I might even give you a cookie.

4. When in Memphis, we did the required thing of going to Graceland. We didn't actually go in because it didn't look workth $30, so we took a picture of the sign and happily went on our merry way. Sorry, Elvis.

So it was interesting. You know, I never really gave much thought to West Virginia, really. I never thought to myself, "I wonder what West Virginia is like, I must go there someday and find out!" But it's actually quite nice, I enjoyed it. We stayed at a nice Residence Inn suite and it was very pleasant.

We also drove through Ohio and it was a bit more hillish than I thought, and Cincinatti looked kinda groovy downtown, but that's about it. I still think it would suck to live in Ohio for some reason. But I guess if you live in Ohio, you probably think it would suck to live in Texas, right?

We ate a lot.. a lot of Subway. We only had two meals that weren't Subway. I love the fact that BB is having good diet times (he's lost almost 75 pounds in 2 months), but come on.. Subway alllll the time? He also ate it while he was driving, which made me very nervous.

Now's the time on Sprockets when I complain about BB:

1. First of all, it's not the second day anymore. It's the third day. He jinxed it by saying, before we went to bed on the second day, "we don't fight on the second day anymore." And then the next day, we got in a huge fight that lasted from Virginia to Ohio to Kentucky. Not fun, my friends.

2. He has to get his picture in front of every state line sign in America. He has almost all of them.. he has like 3 left (Wisconsin, Hawaii, and somewhere else.. he even has one for Alaska) and I hate hate hate it. We have to stop the car on the side of a busy highway, with big ass trucks honking at us, so he can get his picture. It's frigtening, it really is. I don't like.

3. Cruise control. Now, I've never had the benefit of cruise control in any of my cars, but it's such a beating. I don't see what the big deal about it besides the fact you can tap your foot to music instead of having it on the gas. All it caused him to do was narrowly miss rear ending 18 wheelers when they got in the way.

Anyway.. I also brought some entertainment with me. I read Mr. Maybe, by the same chick who wrote the crack addiction Jemima J. It was such a good book! I was really depressed when it was over because I wanted to keep reading it!

One book I wasn't sad about finishing on this trip was Rose Madder, by Stephen King. Now, usually I love Stephen King's stuff, but this book really sucks. I was rereading it for the second time for some reason, and instead of keeping it around to read again, I threw it away in a trash can somewhere in the middle of Missouri. The husband in this book is just so extremely evil and horrible, and the premise is so weird and hard to believe (Come on.. what is this shit with the painting? Maybe it was some kind of metaphor, but I guess I'm just not that literary because it went way the hell over my head!) that it just made me mad. So I threw it away. Bye bye!

I also bought the latest Dr. Phil book but I haven't read it yet. BB is a Dr. Phil kind of guy, so that should be fun.

I also wrote the first two pages of a story for Literotica (I think you will like it, if you're into that sorta thing) that should be good once I can go there and upload it. Cuz you can't really do that in a computer lab, ya know?

And also! One more thing! When we were driving around in Memphis, I heard "Drive" by REM and I swear, I almost started crying. It hit me right in the head. I haven't heard that song in like 5 years, and it reminded me so much of Elementary School Best Friend.. I miss her sooo much. I keep telling myself that if she missed me as much as I did her, she would have found me by now. I see her on Classmates.com but..

a. I don't want to pay $30 to join that place!

b. I'm waiting to see if she cares enough to contact me.

Bah.. I miss that girl. We had some groovy times together. But anyway.

So, there it is folks. 3 days of country music, Subway, and driving. I'll have pictures for you when we upload them and such. I will have more hot sports opinions for you tomorrow.

Also, thanks to everyone who signed the guestbook for my one year anniversary. I do appreciate you! And I'm going to change my counter, because it looks so sad with only three digits. I thought it would be cool to start over, but then I changed my mind.

3:48 p.m. - June 30, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Astralfrog
cursedfemale
perceptions
lynnstjoseph
Weetabix
cerebrate
surlygurl
ladeeleroy
SuicideBlond
Boogabooga
olei
GBG
Phoenixchild
tandia
wicked-sezzy
Mollyx
subsequent
tuluum
stumblebee
enigmareview
rockergemini
thespark
owauno
prettytiedup
rocketqueens
fallonme
agentmerp
Cuillin